Fire protection in the Township is provided by a fire station, 3 fire vehicles and 22 volunteers. The Township enjoys the added protection of an Automatic Aid Fire Protection Agreement with the Town of Renfrew, Greater Madawaska Township and Whitewater Region Township. The Fire Department also provides First Response to the Township of North Algona Wilberforce. The Fire Department provides service for 2,800 residents.

Non-Emergency Numbers:

Fire Chief - Kevin VanWoezik (613) 649-2541
Deputy Fire Chief - Bill McHale (613) 649-2598

Douglas Fire Station, 5226 Queen Street, Douglas ON.

Smoke Alarms - It's the Law:
Under the Ontario Fire Code, “Every Home in Ontario must have a working smoke alarm on every storey and outside all sleeping areas.” Statistics show that smoke alarms save lives.

Open Air Burning:
By-Law #2015-35
Applicable Fines

Fire Permits:
For Fire Permits please contact: Fire Chief - Kevin VanWoezik (613) 649-2541(Home) / (613) 281-1997 (Cell)
Click here for Fire Permit Notice


Site designed and administered by TUBMAN Marketing Inc. provides Business Class Hosting.